+1 905 897 3224 ext 222 enquiry@mapleleaf.consulting
Select Page

Highlights of TEER category system in Canada

 Canada swap places NOC levels with TEER categories from November 16, 2022.

  • A transition from the National Occupational Classification (NOC) to the TEER category system will be implemented for Canada immigration.
  • The TEER system is scheduled to come into effect on November 16, 2022.
  • Familiarizing yourself with the TEER classification will aid in comprehending the skill level prerequisites for Canada immigration.
  • The revised skill categories will be applicable in assessing eligibility for Canada PR visa.

 Starting from November 16, 2022, the eligibility criteria for skilled worker migration in Canada will be assessed based on the skill type and levels outlined in the TEER category system, replacing the previous NOC 2016 classification. The existing NOC system will be substituted with a comprehensive 6-category system.

The present NOC system of the skill type and skill level structure is as follows:

  • NOC 0, A, B, C, and D

The 6-category system of TEER signifies Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities, encompassing essential aspects for assessment.

Under the TEER system, the 4-digit occupation codes, previously used in the NOC, will be expanded to 5-digit codes. This transition will ensure that all eligibility criteria for programs utilizing the NOC will be updated and aligned with the TEER framework.

Canada immigration programs that used the NOC skill type/levels will now use categories under TEER system.

  • The majority of jobs will remain in the TEER category, which holds an equivalent status to the skill levels defined in the NOC. Please refer to the provided table for specific details.
  • Skill level B jobs may potentially be classified under either TEER 2 or TEER 3 categories.
  • Certain occupations may undergo category changes within the TEER system.
  • To identify the corresponding TEER category for your occupation, you can search for it in the NOC 2021 list and ascertain its classification under TEER.

NOC Skill type/level

TEER category

Skill type 0


Skill level A


Skill level B

TEER 2 and TEER 3

Skill level C


Skill level D


Examples of TEER system with occupation details

                                              TEER categories and examples of jobs


Occupation types



Management occupations

Advertising, marketing and public relations managers

Financial managers


Occupations that usually require a university degree

Financial advisors and Software engineers


Occupations that usually require a college diploma apprenticeship training of 2 or more years, or supervisory occupations

Computer network and web technicians

Medical laboratory technologists and Bakers


Occupations that usually require a college diploma apprenticeship training of less than 2 years, or more than 6 months of on-the-job training

Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants


Occupations that usually require a high school diploma, or several weeks of on-the-job training

Home childcare providers

Retail salespersons and visual merchandisers


Occupations that usually need short-term work demonstration and no formal education

Landscaping and grounds maintenance laborers

Delivery service drivers and door-to-door distributors


Applicants will need to search the NOC 2021 list and update their profile with their TEER category and five-digit occupation code.


Fill the form and get a call from expert!

0 / 10

No file chosen